PhotographyJocelyn Mokintext layer

Boudoir FAQ’s: Do You Have Self Love?

Boudoir FAQ’s: Do you have self love? | Melisa Ford Boudoir


What is self love?

Self-love comprises four aspects: self-awareness, self-worth, self-esteem and self-care. If one is missing, then you do not entirely have self-love. To have it, we should be aligned with these four aspects. Self-love can be categorized into different types based on the aspects of oneself that are being nurtured or cared for.

  1. Self-awareness: This involves understanding yourself deeply, including your thoughts, emotions, behaviors, strengths, weaknesses, and values. Self-awareness allows you to recognize your needs, desires, and motivations, enabling you to make conscious choices that align with your authentic self.
  2. Self-worth: Self-worth refers to the inherent value you place on yourself as a person, regardless of external factors such as achievements, status, or validation from others. It involves recognizing your intrinsic worthiness and deservingness of love, respect, and acceptance simply by virtue of being human.
  3. Self-esteem: Self-esteem is the evaluation of your own worth and abilities. It encompasses feelings of confidence, competence, and self-respect. Healthy self-esteem involves believing in yourself, acknowledging your strengths, and accepting your limitations without harsh self-criticism.
  4. Self-care: Self-care involves taking deliberate actions to prioritize your physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual well-being. It includes practices such as setting boundaries, engaging in activities that bring joy and relaxation, seeking support when needed, and attending to your basic needs.

When all four aspects—self-awareness, self-worth, self-esteem, and self-care—are nurtured and aligned, they contribute to a strong foundation of self-love. Each aspect reinforces the others, creating a positive cycle of self-acceptance, growth, and fulfillment. Conversely, if one aspect is neglected or lacking, it can hinder the development of genuine self-love. Therefore, cultivating and maintaining balance across these dimensions is essential for fostering a healthy relationship with oneself.



Do you have self love?
Do you have self love?

Key aspects of self love

Having self-love is akin to having a deep, unconditional regard for oneself. It involves recognizing, accepting, and appreciating all aspects of who you are, including your strengths, weaknesses, successes, and failures. Here are some key aspects and implications of having self-love:

  1. Acceptance and Embracement: Self-love involves accepting yourself fully, including your flaws and imperfections. Rather than striving for perfection or constantly seeking validation from others, you embrace your uniqueness and recognize that your worthiness is not contingent on external factors.
  2. Compassion and Kindness: Self-love entails treating yourself with the same kindness, compassion, and understanding that you would offer to a loved one. It means being gentle with yourself during times of difficulty, acknowledging your feelings without judgment, and offering yourself comfort and support.
  3. Setting Boundaries: Having self-love means valuing your own needs, desires, and priorities, and being willing to set boundaries to protect them. This might involve saying no to things that don’t serve you, prioritizing your well-being, and advocating for yourself in relationships and situations.
  4. Healthy Relationships: When you have self-love, you’re better equipped to cultivate healthy, fulfilling relationships with others. You’re able to communicate your needs effectively, establish mutual respect and support, and engage in relationships that uplift and empower you rather than drain you.
  5. Self-Development and Growth: Self-love involves investing in your personal growth and development. This might include pursuing your passions and interests, setting and working towards goals that align with your values, and being open to learning and evolving as a person.
  6. Gratitude and Appreciation: Having self-love involves cultivating a sense of gratitude for yourself and your life. You appreciate your strengths, accomplishments, and the blessings in your life, fostering a positive outlook and sense of fulfillment.
  7. Resilience and Self-Advocacy: Self-love enables you to navigate life’s challenges with resilience and self-advocacy. You believe in your ability to overcome obstacles, bounce back from setbacks, and advocate for yourself when facing adversity.
  8. Mindful Self-Care: Self-love includes prioritizing self-care practices that nourish your physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual well-being. This might involve activities such as exercise, meditation, spending time in nature, engaging in hobbies, and seeking support when needed.

Overall, having self-love is a journey of self-discovery, self-acceptance, and self-empowerment. It involves recognizing your inherent worthiness, embracing your authenticity, and living your life with courage, compassion, and purpose.


Boudoir FAQ's: Do you have self love?
Boudoir FAQ's: Do you have self love?

To see more images like this CLICK HERE to see more portfolio.

Follow me on INSTAGRAM to see my latest work!

Ready to book a session? See session information and dates available HERE.





Boudoir FAQ’s: Do you have self love, Melisa Ford Boudoir answers the most commonly asked questions in Boudoir Photography.

PhotographyJocelyn Mokintext layer

Let's connect

See behind the scenes on TikTok, recent work on Instagram or join our private facebook community. Choose your favorite social app and connect with us today!